The Written Word #40

My whole life, Henry said, I’ve felt as though I were missing something, that happiness assigned to me existed always at a distance, somewhere, in some place that was somehow beyond me – and when I moved, it too moved, always away but never so far as not to haunt me with the feeling of what it might be like to be happy.

But with you, he said, turning to George and Rebecca, I feel as though I am leading the charge toward death. Happiness and I have swapped places and now it’s pursuing me for its very existence.

No matter what happens from this moment on, Henry announced, here in this place, I will always have my defining moment of victory against sadness.

Simon van Booy in Everything Beautiful Began After

Leave a Reply

