The written word #1

There was a fundamental difference, in his view, between prisoners who arrived from the outside and those who were born in the camp: many outsiders, shattered by the contrast between a comfortable past and a punishing present could not find or maintain the will to survive. A perverse benefit of birth in the camp was a complete absence of expectations.

Blaine Harden in Escape from Camp 14

I tend to record worthy quotes when I read. But I don’t read as much as I’ll liked to. This year, in the hope of keeping to my resolution of reading more, I will dedicate a post a week to one quote from a book that I am reading, or have read. These are quotes that made me pause while reading, and led me to ponder the full weight of their words. The first quote for the year is taken from the last book I read in 2013, which is about Shin, a N. Korean born in a prison camp.

4 thoughts on “The written word #1

Leave a Reply

